Business at the Summit
  Partnership Initiatives
  Virtual Exhibition
  Business Day
  Legacy Projects
  Business Events

Summit Media Centre
  Press Releases
  Business Delegation
  Picture Gallery

  Position Papers

About BASD
  What is BASD?
  BASD Network
  Contact Us


BASD is a network of businesses. It was created by ICC and WBCSD for the express purpose of coordinating business input to the Johannesburg Earth Summit.

The following list shows a selection of CEOs from all over the world who will participate at the Summit in Johannesburg. It is by no means comprehensive, but intended to give a flavour of the private sector presence in Johannesburg.

  • ABB Ltd. Mr. Jörgen Centerman, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • AREVA Ms. Anne Lauvergeon, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer
  • Anglo American plc Sir Mark Moody-Stuart, Director of the Board
  • Anglo American plc Mr. Tony Trahar, CEO
  • Bayer A.G. Mr. Terry Bowman, Chief Executive, South Africa
  • BHP Billiton Mr. Brian Gilbertson, Chief Executive Officer
  • BP p.l.c. Mr. Rodney Chase, Deputy Group Chief Executive
  • CEVKO Mr. Taskin Tuglular Chairman, Executive Board
  • DuPont Mr. Charles Holliday, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
  • Electricité de France (EDF) Mr. François Roussely, Chairman
  • ESKOM Mr. Reuel Khoza, Chairman
  • Exel Petroleum (Pty) Ltd Mr. Maurice Radebe, CEO
  • FALCK Group Dr. Achille Colombo, Managing Director
  • Fertibras S.A. Mr Wladimir Anto Puggina
  • Gold Fields Limited Mr. Ian Cockerill, CEO
  • Holcim Ltd. Mr. Benoît-Henri Koch, Member of the Executive Committee
  • ICC: the world business organization Mr. Richard McCormick, President
  • Interface Inc. Mr. Ray Anderson, Chairman of the Board
  • International Finance Corporation (IFC) Mr. Peter Woicke, Executive Vice President
  • International Gas Union Mr. Hiroshi Urano, President
  • J. Walter Thompson Mr. Tony Pigott, President/CEO
  • Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association Mr. Yoshide Munekuni, Chairman
  • Leif Hoegh & Co. ASA Mr. Westye Hoegh, Chairman of the Board
  • Mondi Mr. Andrew Thompson, CEO
  • Novo Nordisk A/S Mr. Lars Rebien Soerensen, President and CEO
  • Ontario Power Generation Inc. Mr. Ronald Osborne, President and CEO
  • Phelps Dodge Corporation Mr. Douglas Yearley, Chairman Emeritus-PD; Chairman - ICMM
  • Rio Tinto plc Sir Robert Wilson, KCMG Executive Chairman
  • Royal Dutch/Shell Group of Companies Mr. Philip Watts, Chairman of the Committee of Managing Directors
  • Sasol Limited Mr. Pieter Cox, Chief Executive
  • Sasol Limited Mr. Paul du Pless Kruger, Chairman
  • Severn Trent Plc Mr. Robert Walker, Group Chief Executive
  • Suez Mr. Gérard Mestrallet, Chairman and CEO
  • Syngenta AG Mr. Heinz Imhof, Chairman of the Board
  • The Tokyo Electric Power Company Inc. Mr. Teruaki Masumoto, Executive Vice President
  • The Warehouse Ltd. Mr Stephen Tindall, Founder
  • Toyota Motor Corporation Dr. Shoichiro Toyoda, Honorary Chairman, Member of the Board
  • Toyota Motor Corporation Mr. Albert Wessels, Executive Chairman
  • Unilever N.V. Mr. Douglas Baillie, Chairman South Africa

Contact information for journalists

Bryce Corbett
Tel: +33 1 49 53 29 87

Barbara Dubach
Tel: +41 22 839 31 00
Jo'burg: +27 83 296 2105

Please visit the WBCSD and the ICC websites for further information.

Media Registration for LEKGOTLA: Business Day

World Business Council for Sustainable Development International Chamber of Commerce